Bayview Festival

June 9 - August 18, 2017

String Faculty

Philip Alejo, Bass

rsz pie 006

Philip Alejo is the Assistant Professor of Bass at the University of Arizona. Previously he performed as Associate Principal Bass in the Quad City Symphony Orchestra, taught at St. Ambrose University, and served as Visiting Professor of Bass at the University of Michigan. A former member of the Chicago Civic Orchestra and an orchestral mentor with the Detroit Civic Orchestra, Philip has played with Phoenix Symphony, Tucson Symphony, Ensemble Dal Niente, Flint Symphony, and Ann Arbor Symphony. 


As a chamber musician, Philip collaborates regularly with harpist Claire Happel in River Town Duo. River Town Duo recently premiered newly commissioned works by Pulitzer Prize winner Caroline Shaw and Yale composer Hannah Lash during appearances at the International Society of Bassists 2015 Convention and the American Harp Society 2015 Summer Institute. Philip’s additional performances have taken place alongside Menahem Pressler, Yehonatan Berick, Martin Beaver, Paul Coletti, the Prazak Quartet, the Jasper Quartet, Maiya Papach, Spencer Myer, Katinka Kleijn, and David Bowlin.   


Philip has performed at numerous music festivals, including Spoleto Festival USA (SC), Lucerne Festival (Switzerland), Swannanoa Chamber Music Festival (NC), Mackinac Island Music Festival (MI), Oaxaca Instrumenta (Mexico), Aldeburgh Festival (England), Tucson Winter Chamber Music Festival (AZ), Pacific Music Festival (Japan), and Aspen Music Festival (CO). As a fellow at the Center of World Performance Studies at the University of Michigan, Philip studied tango performance during a residency in Buenos Aires with bassist Horacio Cabarcos.

He teaches at the Milt Hinton Institute at Oberlin College, AZ ASTA Bass Jam, and the Richard Davis Conference for Young Bassists at the University of Wisconsin. Philip holds degrees from Oberlin College (BA, BM), Yale University (MM), and the University of Michigan (DMA), where his principal teachers included Diana Gannett, Donald Palma, Peter Dominguez, and Thomas Sperl.